The longest ride anyone would want to go on

The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks

The first time I read the Notebook I fell in love with the characters, and with the style in which Nicolas Sparks brought the love story to life. By the end of the book I’d been through such a rollercoaster of emotion I was literally worn out. It was worth it.

I didn’t think anything could top my enjoyment, and though I’ve read and enjoyed many of Nicolas Sparks’ books since, I was right. Until I read The Longest Ride.

It might sound strange to say that I spent a good portion of the book in tears, but I was literally moved beyond words. The artful way Nicolas takes his readers on the ‘long ride’ is simply superb. It is a beautiful story, and one that should be shared.

I liked everything about it, including how apt the title turned out to be.

The tale starts from Ira Levinson’s point of view, a ninety-one year old man who finds himself involved in an automobile accident and trapped inside his car. As he lays, hoping someone will come along the highway to help, he looks back on the life he spent with his beloved Ruth, whom he’d lost nine years earlier.

These memories, aided by the ghost of Ruth (whether real or imaginary), are some of the best parts of the book. He shares his journey beautifully and the love story is incredibly moving. It’s easy to recognise the goodness in Ira, and just as easy to fall for the character and live those memories with him.

The book also follows a new love story, to complement the timeless beauty of Ira and Ruth. We are introduced to Luke and Sophia, a young couple who meet by chance and begin their own adventure together.

Their journey eventually crosses paths with Ira’s and the result is simply remarkable.

I loved every moment of The Longest Ride. It is as timeless as the love contained within its pages.

*******

Thanks for reading

Mel

Leave a Reply

