It’s the beginning of things, in a roundabout way

365 Days of Writing Prompts

February 12th

All about you

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

So, why Writing Room 101? Would it surprise you to know there are a multitude of reasons. To understand them, I should probably give you a little background.

For those familiar with my personal blog, you’ll know I took part in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November 2013. This experience changed my ‘writing’ life. Suddenly I had an excuse to put my needs first. No more staying up until 2 or 3 am to sneak in a little writing time. I was writing all day, every day (almost). I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed writing so much. The experience was invaluable and I learnt many things during NaNoWriMo; not least of all discipline, structure, and an acceptance of my limitations.

I loved the collaboration, the familiarity, the community, and I didn’t want it to end. So I reached out to my fellow wrimo’s and met Laura.

We are both interested in the collaborative way in which writers work. At the same time we share a common curiosity about the craft, and are both keen to develop. In short, we wanted to keep the momentum going.

One of the reasons for a joint blog was to begin a co-authored piece, a tale written by us both, that we could share with you. It developed from there.

The title.

All writers like to experiment, and often, when we make a decision about something, the reasons can be convoluted! I like language in general, and particularly enjoy the various interpretations gained from a few simple words. It’s all about meaning, and how we look at the world differently.

If we look at the meaning of ‘101’, it usually relates to an introductory level of learning, and that’s certainly one of the reasons we established the blog – to learn from each other. But it’s more than that. Yes it’s about starting something from scratch, something a beginner in a particular field should know, but I also believe everything links back to the basics. Certainly, everything links back to writing for me. Take for example, Room 101. It is a torture chamber in the novel Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell. I’m not intimating that we want to torture you with our words, but rather everything is game! If it links back to writing, at even a fundamental level, you will find it here (hopefully).

It’s the reason I named a radio station Music 101 in Addy’s Choice. Complex and Catchy – sounds like a song, right?

The term 101 can also be linked to rules, or a list of the things people should know (that sounds like a fun project!). It’s also interesting that in some traditional keyboards there are 101 keys. I like the fact 101 is a numeral palindrome (remaining the same whichever way you look at it).

But for me, it’s the low down, the place where anything goes, and the root of why we do what we do.

So there you have it, welcome to Writing Room 101. Come back soon!

Thanks for reading

Mel

 

Thanks to the wonderful editors at WordPress who developed the 365 Days of Writing Prompts.

 

Leave a Reply

