Raising the bar on my NaNo journey this April

Melissa Barker-Simpson

People take part in NaNoWriMo for a multitude of reasons, but ultimately it stems from a shared passion to write. My personal reasons are intertwined with my desire for greater structure in my writing life and to share the experience with like-minded people.

This time around, at CampNaNoWriMo I wanted to make a bigger commitment and raise money at the same time. As with many writers, I live, breathe and dream in words. Stories are important to any community and can be the glue that holds us together. NaNoWriMo understands the value of that and gives back in a variety of ways.

As well as encouraging wrimos to take part, including programs that nurture the younger generation, they create events for those who love to write, all over the world.

I believe this should be celebrated. This level of commitment, support and a sense of community has developed me as a person and, quite simply, I…

View original post 186 more words

Leave a Reply

