Hop on over to 20/20 Hines Sight

I talk about WR101 being a collaborative blog, and in the spirit of cooperation I’ve decided to take part in a blog-hop. I stumbled across a great site (20/20 Hines Sight), with plenty of hidden gems for readers and writers alike. Why not head over and join the fun.

One of the regular features, 20/20 Five, takes place every Friday. You’ll find more information if you click on the link, but it’s basically a way for the community to come together and share by asking and responding to a series of questions.

2020-e1390359113214Here are the questions, and my answers, for this week’s hop.

Put your iPod or MP3 player on shuffle and tell us the first three songs that come up?

I could make this up to sound more cultured, more musically inclined, or certainly cooler – there’s no rule saying we have to be completely forthcoming. But I’ll be honest because, let’s face it, if we were all the same there wouldn’t be a need for the question. So…deep breath…

1. Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers – Islands in the Stream

2. Bruno Mars – Count on Me

3. Les Misérables: The Motion Picture Soundtrack – One Day More

Everybody’s Got Talent, what’s your? The stranger the better?

I’m quite talented at folding paper! I enjoy origami, especially the kind that tricks the mind and entertains. I have done for as long as I can remember. That’s about as interesting, or as strange, as my talents get, though I do have a rather embarrassing story that might score points. I was around seventeen and took part in a work experience placement for a charity. On my second day, when the supervisor asked what I’d been doing the night before I calmly explained I’d been practising Kama Sutra! I, of course, meant origami and after stuttering through a retraction, was able to laugh about it with her. I still don’t know why the word popped into my head, but I still have to think whenever I talk about origami!

Do you have any strange phobias?

No strange phobias or even funny anecdotes to share. I’m afraid of wasps – it’s an irrational fear born of their resemblance to one of hell’s fiery instruments (told you it’s not rational).

What was the last lie you told?

I can’t really think of any, apart from the little white lies we tell to make ourselves, or others, feel better. When I was a little girl my Dad told me that all our lies were tallied up and if we’d told enough we didn’t get into heaven! It worked, because even though I’m no longer that gullible (not quite), that doesn’t mean I’m taking any chances!

Do you believe in Karma?

Absolutely. I’ve always believed in the importance of treating others the way I want to be treated myself.

That’s it for this week.

Thanks for reading.

Mel

2 thoughts on “Hop on over to 20/20 Hines Sight

  1. Thanks for participating. It appears that your taste in music is just as eclectic as mine. I hope you’ll jump in again this Friday.

    Also, I’m going to Writing Room 101 on my short story blog (A Short A Day) and 20/20 Hines Sight.

Leave a Reply

