Review: The Vessel – by Callum McLaughlin

I’ve been a fan of Callum’s for a while now, and his blog is one of my favourites (Callum McLaughlin).

His poetry never fails to move me, and I highly recommend you head on over to experience his work for yourself.

I recently read his debut novella, The Vessel, and it blew me away. You’ll find my review in the ‘Reading Room’ but I’ve also added it below.

Review

The Vessel gripped me from the very first paragraph. I felt an instant connection to the focal character (Eva Cole), not only because of a powerful first introduction, but because the author allowed me to see through her eyes. Utilising every tool at his disposal, the author also creates stunning imagery so you feel a connection to everything that happens in this fast-paced tale. The language is poetic in its elegance and, as I said, hooked me from the very beginning.

Eva is hunted relentlessly throughout the book, having escaped from a facility that is as harsh as her surroundings. Living in a world savaged by disease, and as dangerous as the prison she has escaped from, it soon becomes abundantly clear how treacherous her journey will become.

The Vessel had me on tenterhooks. I was invested in the outcome of the story, and couldn’t stop reading until I had learnt of Eva’s fate.

I would highly recommend this debut novella. It is packed to the brim with suspense, intrigue and enough twists and turns to make you dizzy!

Happy Reading

Mel

3 thoughts on “Review: The Vessel – by Callum McLaughlin

Leave a Reply

