An Avid Reader Takeover

Reading Room
Hey, everyone! My name is Fantasy Angel from Avid Reader, and I love reading books – especially fantasy, crime and mystery. I first created a blog on Weebly, almost two years ago now, to share that love by reviewing books and talking about them/their movie adaptations.

After a year and a half I decided to switch to the awesome community that is WordPress, and that’s where you’ll find me now.

So after participating in the Blogging 201 challenge, I thought it would be pretty awesome to become a guest reviewer. After much discussion, Melissa and I got together to hash out the details and here I am!

Before I begin, I must warn you that I create new words or warp them to fit the sentence/meaning/context*. You’ve been warned 🙂

Review of Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell

I must say, the premise behind Dear Killer is pretty good! It’s basically about a high school girl who also happens to be the most fearsome killer in London since Jack the Ripper, and no one knows except her mother.

She receives letters from those wanting her to kill a specific target, and leaves these letters on the body; her signature “move”. When she gets one that threatens to break her first rule – nothing is right. Nothing is wrong. She must decide: follow the rules or break ‘em.

This story was fantasmic*! At first, when I picked it up, I thought it might be a bit to horror-y for me, but as I got into it, I realized it was more like the Women’s Murder Club books I love.

The writing is pretty awesome; with a good amount of character development, dialogue and just pure goodness. Each character is well formed, with my fav being, of course, Kit – aka the fearsome killer.

There are also no boring or dull parts, which upped the goodness quota for me. I really liked it and I think a lot of you will like it too.

For those of you who are a little squeamish, there was only one really gruesome part, so I’m sure it’s nothing you can’t handle!

Rating: 11/10

***

Thanks to Melissa for letting me “takeover” and thanks to you guys (meaning you, the reader/audience).

I hope you liked the review and that you’ll visit my blog for more. Ta ta for now!

FA

3 thoughts on “An Avid Reader Takeover

Leave a Reply

