The Shadow Stalker Blog Blitz: Part 1

Marketing KitWriting Room 101 is providing three stops on today’s Blitz, starting with a review of The Shadow Stalker: The Hidden Truth (Episode 1).

Shadow Stalker – The Hidden Truth: Episode 1

Review by Melissa Barker-Simpson

 

This is the first time I’ve read a serial and I didn’t know what to expect. I was pulled into the story right away. The pacing was cleverly crafted so that while the action had the pages turning, there was enough back story to keep you rooted in the plot. I liked the way it unfolded, how the author allowed us to see through Auren’s eyes – a young girl testing the limits placed on her by her step-father and guardian, Kato. Their relationship is an intriguing one, full of secrets and shared respect, despite the duty they are both bound to.

Although Auren’s emotions are those of a typical teenage girl, her circumstances are not. She struggles to find her place, craving the freedom to stretch her wings, all while understanding the depth of her responsibilities. It is a compelling battle  and as a reader I was easily able to identify with this internal struggle.

Auren’s world is an unfamiliar one, but with the help of some lovely descriptions I found it to be an exciting journey, one I am looking forward to continuing in episode 2.

**

Thanks for visiting.

Mel

11 thoughts on “The Shadow Stalker Blog Blitz: Part 1

  1. Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Mel. You made me want to read it again. 😀 If you don’t mind I’d love to share this review on my blog, with a link back to yours.

    And if your readers have any questions at all for me, I’d be happy to answer them.

    Renee

  2. I don’t mind a bit 🙂 I’ll mention to my readers that you welcome questions in my next post this afternoon. The review was a pleasure. Thanks for allowing me to read it. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    1. I like the thought of it. Sometimes it’s hard waiting a whole year for my favourite authors to release the next on their list. Regular ‘episodes’ sounds like a win to me! 🙂

      1. Lol, neither am I. I couldn’t even wait to write an entire novel before I published something! Well, okay that’s not entirely true. This is my third run with Shadow Stalker. My first one was suggested to be an entire rewrite by a friend of mine who is a published author. I’m so glad I took her advice, though. It was worth it!

      2. Oh speaking of which, I’m looking to add to my list of beta readers. I need at least 6 more. If you or any of your readers are interested, just send me a message.

Leave a Reply

