Reunion of the Heart by Elaine Jeremiah

Reunion of the HeartThis book has been on my list since Elaine generously gave me a copy in exchange for an honest review. It’s taken longer than I would like, but I wanted to give it my undivided attention and actually started reading it yesterday.

Before we get to the review, here’s the blurb.

After a messy breakup with her boyfriend, Anna is feeling fragile. So when her best friend Melissa suggests the two of them go to their school reunion, she’s reluctant as Anna’s school days weren’t her happiest. The evening is going well until she meets the boy who made her school life hell. But the grown up Will is different and Anna is surprised by the direction her life takes. The reunion sets in motion a series of events that lead Anna to realise things will never be the same again. ‘Reunion of the Heart’ is a romance that will lead you to ponder whether love can atone for past mistakes.

I read Reunion of the Heart in two days. It held my attention throughout. The story is primarily about love and friendship and I was caught up in the lives of the characters. It’s a relatable book, fraught with loss and heartache, but also with hope and new opportunities.

The main protagonist (Anna) is likeable; her neurosis adds an engaging element so the reader cares what happens to her and the friendships she relies on.

I enjoyed the scenes with Anna and her friends. The dialogue was genuine and made me feel like a part of the group.

The building romance between Anna and Will is well paced, which adds tension and allows the reader to understand the difficulties they have both overcome, in order to get where they are.

I liked the connections between the characters too. They all go on a journey of discovery, where past mistakes no longer haunt them and they can finally forgive.

It is an uplifting tale and, as I said, a relatable one. I enjoyed spending time with the group and I’m sure you will too.



Thanks for reading

Mel

4 thoughts on “Reunion of the Heart by Elaine Jeremiah

    1. It made a refreshing change 🙂 I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy books, part research for the novella, and it’s nice to take a step back. I’m craving Lee Child!

      I also read a novel as part of my beta duties which, though took up a lot of time, was an absolute pleasure. I think you’d love it, so when the author decides to publish it (not sure how long it will be), I’ll do a post to let people know it’s out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

