Shadow Stalker Double Feature Tour – Review of Demon Hunt

I’m thrilled to be part of Renee’s double feature tour. Not only is she sharing with us the details of the next episode of Shadow Stalker, she has also just released a prequel to the series. The cover design for Demon Hunt is by Kathryn Jenkins, and I’m sure you’ll agree it’s pretty great.

Demon Hunt

Review

I thoroughly enjoyed Demon Hunt, the prequel to the Shadow Stalker series. I’ve come to know Kado and Auren pretty well over the last four episodes, so this was a wonderful opportunity to explore their earlier relationship. Their camping trips play a big part of the journey, and reference is made to Auren’s childhood training, so taking this adventure with them was a special treat.

My favourite thing about Demon Hunt is undoubtedly the fact I got to see things from Kado’s point of view. I was drawn to him from the first episode, but since the series is predominantly told from Auren’s point of view, there were times when I wanted to get inside Kado’s head.

Demon Hunt gave me a chance to learn his motivations and, more importantly, to see a lighter side to his nature. I really enjoyed Renee’s descriptions of him. As a character he is extremely compelling, and his relationship with Auren is one of the things I love about the series.

The story also revealed more about the bond Kado and Auren share. Due to the way they lived in the beginning, and the necessity to hide Auren’s identity, Kado had to to wipe her memories on a regular basis. He could not risk detection, but he also needed an opportunity to train her without barriers. The conflicts, as always, were handled beautifully. Seeing both sides brought me closer to them as a reader.

Demon Hunt is a peek into the past, allowing readers to uncover some of the mystery behind Auren’s training regimen and also her past. It is also an adventure. As she unwittingly releases a demon into the world, the pair must hunt the creature and deal with the aftermath of her mistake. It made for an emotional, exciting and engaging read.

***

Demon Hunt – Synopsis

Auren longs for adventure and a break from her tedious life on Appolia. It’s the start of summer, and she is looking forward to her yearly camping trip with her foster father, Kado. She believes these trips are for fun, but when they arrive on Luten Isle, Kado informs her that she is a shadow stalker, and she is in training.

One morning, Auren decides to take her training into her own hands. She only means to practice seeing the veil to the shadow world, the world of the shadow people and the source of their power. Instead, she opens the veil releasing a demon, a guardian of the shadow world, into the physical world.

With the deadly beast loose, she and Kado don’t have long to hunt it down and return it to where it belongs, or many innocent people could die.

***

Renee ScattergoodRenee Scattergood lives in Australia with her husband, Nathan, and daughter, Taiya. She was inspired to become a story-teller by George Lucas, but didn’t start considering writing down her stories until she reached her late twenties. Now she enjoys writing high fantasy, and has recently began publishing her first series, Shadow Stalker. Aside from writing, she loves reading (Fantasy, of course), watching movies with her family, and doing crafts and science experiments with her daughter.

50 thoughts on “Shadow Stalker Double Feature Tour – Review of Demon Hunt

  1. Great review Melissa, can’t wait to dig into this book later tonight. I still love reading your reviews they are so fun to read.

  2. Thanks so much for the awesome review, Melissa! You always give me such incredible reviews. You have no idea how good it makes me feel and how much I appreciate it! I just wish I was as good as you at writing them. 😀

      1. I’ve got another prequel novel in mind, but this was goes further back and will likely be written after I’m done with the series. It’s going to be about Drevin’s downfall, the formation of the Galvadi Empire and Kado’s escape with Auren. I’ve also got my heart set on another series in the same world called The First Shadow Stalker. You’ll get to see how it all began and why. 😀

      2. Ooooh. That sounds very interesting. Do you plan to do pre-ordering on any of your books? It’s something you can do on Smashwords.

      3. I know. That sounds awesome. I would think a custom cover for The First Shadow Stalker would be amazing.

  3. Great review, I loved it. I wish I was as good at writing reviews as you are. It probably didn’t help that I wrote it about a week after I read the book.

    1. Thank you 🙂 I think it’s definitely a good idea to write a review immediately after you’ve finished reading/watching/using it! We have so much going on, don’t we, that it can be difficult to remember how we’re feeling in the moment!

      1. Yeah, it is. I probably will do that from now on. Might get to work on Robin’s POV of that OUAT fanfic you really liked.

      2. Have you seen the season finale yet? I can’t believe what they did to Robin and Regina.

      3. Well kind of. That did it really well but it looks like goodbye. I hope I haven’t said too much. But you have to see what happens with Rumpelstiltskin. Some other villains make an appearance too which sets the scene for part 2 of the season in March. March is a long time away.

      4. It feels like it now, but the scary thing is…it will be here before we know it! I’ll make an effort to catch up on the final episode over the next few days 🙂

      5. Yeah. Which one have you seen last? The episode with the Shattered Sight curse was awesome but missed a crucial Regina/Robin scene at the end I thought. The fight was awesome but lacked real danger I thought along with her lacklustre costume.

      6. I haven’t seen that one either – it looks like I have some serious catching up to do…I really don’t know where the time goes. By the end of the weekend I aim to get on top of it! 🙂

      7. I think you did do him justice, and I really enjoyed reading the scene. I left a review for you. As usual Regina shone through – you understand her so well 🙂

      8. I have a lot of ideas but I will write them out fully or mostly before I publish. I don’t want any more hanging fanfics.

        One of my favourite and I think best ideas is this.

        Title: A Fire Elemental: A Curse and A Life

        Viv, a fire elemental has been caught up in the curse. Bondmated to Regina, she has been there for her since the beginning of her life. But can she survive in a Storybrooke with no magic? Will the curse have to be broken early?

      9. Yes. I just gave my website a complete overhaul. It looks better for it though.

        My main goal is to complete as much of A Spy in the Sagax Vampires as possible and hopefully publish in 2015.

        My side goals are to promote my poetry chapbook, The Magic Christmas Dragon & Other Poetry Tales come Christmas time and to work on editing my short story for the DKC anthology and promoting the Dreamless Roads Anthology. I will be publishing my epic poem, The Rogue’s Odyssey as well though.

        A very busy year.

      10. You’re not kidding! I have a busy year planned too though, with a few collaborations, and more books to write than I know what to do with. Good luck with your goals. They are truly impressive 🙂

Leave a Reply

