Shadow Stalker Double Feature Tour – Spotlighting Episode 5

SSE5 Cover JPGToday is all about Shadow Stalker: Episode 5. I’ll begin with a review, and lead into a special character interview. Kathryn Jenkins from DKC pinned Drevin down for us, though I’m told he was reluctant!

Destiny Reconciled Part One: Review

I enjoy two-part episodes because it’s a sure thing there will plenty of tension and an ending that will make you want to shake your fist at the screen (it still works – I read the book on my computer!).

In the end it was the emotions evoked in this episode that had me by the throat. It opened with Auren and Etan being led back to the village to face their punishment. In Episode 4 the pair were found in a compromising position, by Kado no less! Since they were forbidden to see each other, and Etan had been banished, you can imagine that didn’t go down too well. The worst part, I think, and the part which held the biggest emotional impact, was the fact Auren broke her connection to Kado in the process. His sense of betrayal was heart-breaking, and Renee conveyed this really well.

Following Auren’s punishment, Kado led her from the village to continue her training. The ensuing scenes were intense, and as they worked out their differences, the sorrow and regret all but leapt from the page. As if that wasn’t enough, Auren’s training kicked up a gear and she found herself face to face with the deadly Igwangala tree in all its carnivorous glory. I shudder just thinking about it – the descriptions were superb.

The cliff-hanger was totally unexpected, and after such a fraught episode, I think I need the time to recover until Part 2!

***

Purchase links: Destiny Reconciled: Part One

Character Interview with Drevin from the Shadow Stalker Series:

Hello Drevin. Thank you for stopping by!

*Drevin nods*

I’m sure Renee’s readers are looking forward to getting to know you.

*wry grin* I’m sure.

Why don’t we get started then?

 Lets.

Where were you born, and what was it like growing up there?

I was born on the Dark Isle. My life there was great until I found out the Foramar had done a horrible thing to my parents. I had grown up believing they were dead, but it turned out they had been forced apart because they had mated against the will of the shadow people.

Is it true that the Foramar spared your life when it was well within his rights to kill you when you were born?

It was the only sane thing he’d done as the Foramar.

I see. So is that why you keep him prisoner?

I keep him prisoner because he would unleash an unspeakable horror on our world just to spare his child.

But sparing you was okay.

*icy glare*

Okay, moving on. Did you have many friends growing up?

I did, and they are still my friends today.

Oh? Who are they?

*laughs* Kado could tell you. He watches them like criminals and believes they don’t know.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned in your life?

Trust no one.

That seems to be a pretty lonely view. Haven’t you ever been in love?

I do not need to get tangled in emotional affairs to have women. As the emperor of a great nation, they flock to me.

I see. And it doesn’t bother them that you do not love them?

They feel honored just to be with me.

You are very driven to capture and kill the delohi-saqu. What are your plans for the Serpent Isles once you’ve achieved that goal?

I have many plans that I will not speak openly about. You never know who is listening.

Of course, but wouldn’t you like to be able to just relax and maybe go on vacation?

There is no time for such trivial things.

Well Drevin, that’s all we have time for. Thank you for joining us. It’s been…interesting.

I’m sure it has. Be sure your readers understand that siding with the delohi-saqu is dangerous. Don’t be fooled by her innocent appearance or one day she may enslave your world too.

Of course, I’ll let them know.

See that you do.

***

Renee ScattergoodRenee Scattergood, author of the high fantasy series, Shadow Stalker, lives in Australia with her husband and daughter. Aside from writing, she loves reading (Fantasy, of course), watching movies with her family, and doing crafts and science experiments with her daughter.

14 thoughts on “Shadow Stalker Double Feature Tour – Spotlighting Episode 5

  1. Thanks Mel! I swear after next episode it’s going to be happy… for a little while… maybe like the first chapter of Episode 7. Then well… you know. 😉

Leave a Reply

