Interview with Renee Scattergood – Demon Hunt Blitz Tour

In honour of Renee’s Blitz Tour weekend for Demon Hunt, I asked Renee a few questions about her writing habits. I’ve also added information about the prequel to her Shadow Stalker series, and all the necessary links.

Interview with Renee Scattergood

1. If you could choose a writing retreat anywhere in the world, where would it be? Describe it to us.

This isn’t something I’ve ever really thought about to be honest. My first impulse was to say Disney World, but I’d be too distracted there. But then… if I could stay in one of those nice resorts where I can just go for a massage or something to take a break from writing, that would be so nice. Really, though, I feel most relaxed near the ocean. Maybe I’d go somewhere I could get a beach house or cabin or something. That would be really nice. Then I could sit out under an umbrella sipping drinks with my laptop, and I could write in peace. Yeah, that would be nice.

2. Who would you take with you?

I would have to take my husband and daughter because I wouldn’t be able to relax if I had to be apart from them. I’d never get anything written. And it would be fine because they would be too busy playing on the beach together to distract me. πŸ˜€

3. Do you have an unusual writing habits, any superstitions about your process?

I think I’m too practical for superstitions, and I can’t think of any habits I might have. The only thing I can really think of, but I’m not sure if it qualifies as a habit, is that I need to multitask when I’m writing. I’ve got ADHD and I have a hard time focusing on any one thing at a time (unless I’m really tired). So I usually chat and do other things while I write.

4. All writers are familiar with the dangers of distraction – what kinds of things can lead you down the slippery slope?

Getting drawn into other people’s dramas. That’s something that tends to get me distracted, so I avoid it. Another thing that distracts me is stress. If I’m anxious about something or worried, I can’t focus on anything else until that one thing is sorted out.

5. Do you belong to any writing groups?

No, I’d say they’re another distraction for me. One reason is because there is always some kind of drama going on (at least in my experience). Also, when I ask for feedback on my work, I want honest feedback. I don’t want to hear how great my work is, and they seem content to just feed each others egos in those groups. I’m sure there are some good writing groups out there, but I haven’t found one yet where I feel as though I could benefit from it. Besides. I have some really great beta readers to get feedback from. πŸ˜€

6. Finally, tell us what’s next for you? What projects do you have in the pipeline?

I’m working on a few things actually. I’m in the process of writing the first Savior of the Serpent Isle novel. It’s called, The Galvadi Invasion, and is based on the events of the first three episodes of the Shadow Stalker series. The only difference is, this series is going to be written in third person and it will show what’s going on within the entire Serpent Isles during this time, rather than focusing on Auren’s story. The POV characters for this one will be Kado, Auren, Shai (Kado’s daughter), Deakan (Auren’s friend from Episode 1), Drevin, and Makari (Drevin’s son).

Later this year I will be working on a stand-alone-with-the-possibility-of-a-sequel novel called The Four, which is a story about a girl who gets caught up in the world of shape-shifters. The shape-shifters in this story are mainly evil, with the power to control the minds of humans, but The Four is an organization started by a group of shape-shifters who feel it’s wrong to enslave humans in this way, so they fight against their own kind to protect humans. But imagine what could happen if one of The Four falls in love with a normal human girl who doesn’t love him back? πŸ˜‰

I’m also working on planning another series that I will likely start writing next year. I don’t have characters or plot worked out yet. It’s just an idea that popped into my head that I’m playing with, but it involved a society where magic users rule and non-magic users are little more than peasants or slaves. Of course there’s more to it at this point, but I don’t want to give too much away, yet.


Demon HuntAuren longs for adventure and a break from her tedious life on Appolia. It’s the start of summer, and she is looking forward to her yearly camping trip with her foster father, Kado. She believes these trips are for fun, but when they arrive on Luten Isle, Kado informs her that she is a shadow stalker, and she is in training.

One morning, Auren decides to take her training into her own hands. She only means to practice seeing the veil to the shadow world, the world of the shadow people and the source of their power. Instead, she opens the veil releasing a demon, a guardian of the shadow world, into the physical world.

With the deadly beast loose, she and Kado don’t have long to hunt it down and return it to where it belongs, or many innocent people could die.

Createspace:Β Paperback

Kindle:Β Kindle
Smashwords.com:Smashwords.com

Renee ScattergoodBio:

Renee Scattergood lives in Australia with her husband, Nathan, and daughter, Taiya. She was inspired to become a story-teller by George Lucas, but didn’t start considering writing down her stories until she reached her late twenties. Now she enjoys writing high fantasy, and has recently began publishing her first series, Shadow Stalker. Aside from writing, she loves reading (Fantasy, of course), watching movies with her family, and doing crafts and science experiments with her daughter.

Links:

10 thoughts on “Interview with Renee Scattergood – Demon Hunt Blitz Tour

      1. Yeah, I’d love to see the magical cover. Can’t wait til Renee spills the (or some more) beans on this.

  1. Thanks for the interview, Mel! πŸ˜€ And I’ll have more info on the new series later in the year. I want to work out some of the details first. As soon as I’m ready to start writing, I’ll be making an announcement about it. It’s an idea that’s been floating around in my head for a while now, so I’m really excited to be finally doing something about it.

Leave a Reply

