Shadow Stalker: Destiny Reconciled Part 2 (Episode 6)

Shadow-Stalker-ButtonIt’s Shadow Stalker time! Episode 6 is out today, which is the second part of Destiny Reconciled. You’ll find all the relevant links below. But first, Renee would like to share with you some of her writing experiences.

My Five Biggest Distractions While Writing

By Renee Scattergood

I have ADHD, so I am very easily distracted. Quite often I need to multitask just so I can distract myself from the distractions. Some are just unavoidable, though, and they seem to get to me regardless of what I do. Here are five of them:

1) My daughter. She is probably the biggest distraction I have. She has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder and ADHD as well, and right now I am the only person she seems to want attention from. That means every time she needs something, even if her dad is available, she insists on coming to me. Anyone who knows about ASD knows it’s hard to sway a kid like this once they get something in their head, and you learn that they have a reason for it, even if you don’t know what that reason is (in other words, they’re not doing it to annoy you…in fact, that is something they would never consider doing). So I try to encourage her to go to her father, but if we start hitting the meltdown yellow zone, for now I have to just humor her and take care of things myself.

2) Outside noise. Any little bit of outside noise is a distraction to me, whether it’s a car going by, the ice cream truck, or kids playing. Generally I have to wait for the noise to pass before I can concentrate on writing again.

3) The clouds. Yes, the clouds. If I can see the clouds through my window while I’m writing, they will distract me. I love watching the clouds and the minute I see them passing by, I either have to turn myself around or allow myself to succumb to the momentary distraction until the cloud finally passes. Sometimes I get some good ideas while cloud watching, though, so it’s not necessarily a bad thing.

4) My husband. If he finds something cool on the internet he just has to show me right there and then. No, it cannot wait. I’ve even told him to email things to me and I’d look at it when I’m done, but no. It’s easier for him to just tell me about it right then. Sigh…

5) My own thoughts. You know, it just happened right after I wrote that. LOL My brain is always going a million miles a second, and it’s hard for me to keep up sometimes. Most of the time multitasking helps with this, but other times even that’s not enough. I might have other things on my mind, in which case I will need to take care of those things first, or I’ll never be able to write. Other times the story I’m working on plays through my head so quickly, I can’t keep up with the typing. I can end up three or four chapters ahead before I realize I’ve got to catch up with the actual writing.

There are other things that distract me as well, but these are my five biggest distractions. What things distract you from writing, or doing what you’re supposed to be doing?


Renee ScattergoodRenee Scattergood lives in Australia with her husband, Nathan, and daughter, Taiya. She has always been a fan of fantasy and was inspired to become a story-teller by George Lucas, but didn’t start considering writing down her stories until she reached her late twenties. Now she enjoys writing fantasy. She is currently publishing her monthly Shadow Stalker series, and she has also published a prequel novella to the series called, Demon Hunt. Aside from writing, she loves reading (Fantasy, of course), watching movies with her family, and doing crafts and science experiments with her daughter.


Destiny Reconciled Part 2

Cathnor has been arrested by the Council of Elders and everything is out of control on the Dark Isle. As the future Foramar of the shadow stalkers, Kado is determined to return to his village and help his people, but he won’t risk Auren being captured.

On their way back to the village, Kado prepares Auren for the possibility that she may have to leave the Dark Isle without him, but will Auren have the strength and courage to leave her foster father behind and face her destiny alone?

Author Pages:

Β Renee Writes: http://reneescattergood.com/

Renee’s Author Spotlight: http://reneesauthorspotlight.blogspot.com.au/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00NTJY1W2

Smashwords Author Page: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/rscatts

Social Media:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/reneescatts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ReneeScatts

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/118427336236369690813/+ReneescattergoodAuthor/posts

14 thoughts on “Shadow Stalker: Destiny Reconciled Part 2 (Episode 6)

  1. Thanks for sharing Melissa and for all your support! πŸ˜€

    I also wanted to let everyone know that all Shadow Stalker episodes are free right now on Smashwords for a promotion they’re doing. It ends today (Saturday), though, so you’ll have to hurry!

  2. Lol, number 5 is mine too. I get distracted thinking about a story but then when I want to write it down, I forget.

      1. It isn’t just you lol I get distracted by FB and all the others too. I usually can multi task very well while I talk to you and usually I have my big work done before you even wake up πŸ™‚

  3. Hi I like your page. It is very honest. I like where you say that your husband has to show you something funny on the internet and no it cannot wait. I am like that with my husband too. I get something and I have to show him right then. I am like a bubble about to burst waiting for him to look. haha.

    I have a lot of problems with writing. Really one of my biggest problems, is I think writing is hard. I mean that is obvious, but writing the stuff I am, is emotionally very painful for me. It is intense.

    I love the part about how you look at clouds. That sounds so beautiful. I wish i saw clouds while I was writing and got distracted by them now and again because they are lovely. When I was younger I remember being fascinated by them and all the different ways they could form across the sky.

    I have a sister in law with aspergers and I see how she needs things a certain way. She is a wonderful person. But yes, she has needs that are stronger then others in having others do things in a way that makes her comfortable, so I know that must be challenging at times.

    And I was classified as ADD or ADHD as a child, but I wasn’t medicated or anything, which I am really grateful for. I happen to think that ADHD is an emotional sort of issue more then anything else and does not need medicating. I spaced out a lot do to emotional trauma for instance. I had my mother with an issue that made her extremely angry a lot and so I was practically dissociative from it.
    It is just more of a struggle for me to stay on my focused task.. I have to keep bringing myself back to it, over and over, so I understand. πŸ™‚ Anyway I liked your article.. Well said.

    1. When you write things close to your heart, it can be very difficult. I think most people have no way of understanding how writers make themselves vulnerable with their writing. It’s why many writers tend to be so sensitive about what they write. It’s a very personal thing.

      I was never medicated either. My mom didn’t see the point. The biggest challenge for me with ADHD, aside from being easily distracted (or having what I call “oooo shiny syndrome”), is the anxiety. I’ve had severe anxiety issues throughout my life and they still effect me now at times. It is a very emotional and psychological disorder.

      Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

      1. Yes, it is very personal to write. I feel. I guess someone could maybe write and not make it personal, but I think usually it is.
        And yeah especially being new to an art field, I think it does make for a lot of vulnerable feelings.
        Hehe I love the “ooh shiny” joke, I think it’s kind of funny everytime I hear it. πŸ™‚ But yes living with anxiety is a real challenge. I have grown up with it as well.
        Thank you for commenting back, such a nice comment. Take care. πŸ™‚

      2. You’re welcome. And yeah…the more personal writing is always better, I think. Sure it’s scary to share, but it tends to feel more real to the reader.

Leave a Reply

